WOD 10/30/08

“Jacobs Ladder”

20 OHS (M:95/W:65)

15 Pull Ups

10 Ring Push ups

5 Swings (M:55/W:35)

20 Pull ups

15 Ring Push ups

10 Swings

5 OHS

20 Ring Push Ups

15 Swings

10 OHS

5 Pull Ups

20 Swings

15 OHS

10 Pull ups

5 Ring Push Ups

I dug this one out of my archives, courtesy of Eugene Allen at CrossFit Pierce County. I have not done this in quite some time, but I remember it being pretty fun. I figured this would be a good one before we punched out for the rest day. Do yourself a favor though, and write down the rep scheme. Unless you are Rainman, there is no way you are going to remember this.

Overhead Squats are more of a core exercise than a leg exercise. Make sure you lock the core in nice and tight and get nice active shoulders with the bar locked out overhead. Active shoulders means your shoulders are shrugged into your ears and you should be imagining yourself pulling the bar in half. Go lighter than RX’d if you have not done these too often. The Ring push ups were covered a couple days back. Do them if you can, otherwise do regular ones. With the push ups and OHS, your core gets a double punch that is sure to make the mid-section tired, but stronger.

Afterwards, sit down and stretch for a bit 90-120 seconds on each body part. Concentrate on the hamstrings, the hip flexors, quads and glutes. Call it a day after that.

Get some!

6 thoughts on “WOD 10/30/08

  1. John-Hans

    I am from Malaysia and I have been following your blog for some time now. I like it very much and must comment on how much I enjoy reading your daily post. I respect both you and your wife for being such a great team and and encouragement . I am 19 and have been crossfitting for 8 months now. I thank people like you for your passion and dedication towards crossfit and ultimately influencing your community and people such as me. Thank you once again and keep it up !

  2. Rick

    CFF goes international! Sweet! John-Hans how is the surfing in Malaysia? Have fun during Monsoon season!

    The EVOC crew went to the academy and pounded out the “dirty 30”. Which was actually 35, but nothing rhymes with 35. A few of us did sub 12 minutes, and mocked the recruits who were struggling. Thank you Matt for the Work-out! I was really looking forward to the CFF WOD, but it will have to wait. shoot!

  3. John-Hans – Thank you for checking in and the compliments about our program. If and when you make it to Sacramento, Ca. you are always welcome here! Please keep checking in and let me know if you ever need anything. Take care and stay fit! — Ian

    Rick – Nice work once again. You guys are doing a great job out there at EVOC as a team getting fitter and healthier. Keep it up, bro!

  4. Rick – While out at EVOC the other day, I was admiring the new pull up bars. They are awesome. I have EVOC on 12/10 and I’m sure I will be putting them to good use during lunch.

    Ian – I made Steph and I a couple pair of rings the other night with the recipe you supplied. I used mine for the first time this morning and they worked great. Thanks!!!

  5. Michelle

    It took me half of the exercise to figure out the pattern! Maybe I shouldn’t be willing to admit that but CHRIST! Anyway, I sub’d back squat for the OHS because I didn’t feel stable doing it solo. I know I didn’t get the core workout as I result, but did it in 12’09”. Looking forward to catching up with Lynne and Hell later in the week.

Leave a Reply

