WOD 11/11/08

ME 5×5

Deadlifts

Weighted Pull Ups

This scheme denotes 5 rounds of 5 reps a piece. Warm up nicely to a point where you are ready to start the recorded efforts, then load up and go. Two trains of thought – first being load to about 75% of your 1RM and work up successively over the rest of the sets. Second is to load up to about 90%+ of your 1RM and go for it each time. I see pros and cons to both, but this is a good time to experiment and see what works for you.

I tend to go with the first method. I feel this progression allows me to move up without going to far over the top, failing the lift and then being blown for the remaining lifts. However, the downside here is you may come up short on your final lifts. The other way may provide more muscular work and subsequent adaptation at max load, but if you blow it early, you are now downloading the weight to continue. This still has some benefit, but it’s a toss up. In a 5×5 pattern you need to go the distance, so overloading can cost you – keep that in mind when loading up. Try one or the other and see what you think.

Do the deadlifts and then rest for a bit before tackling the pull ups, which are the secondary movement here. Put a DB between the ankles, plates in a back pack, plates hanging from a belt, whatever adds resistance to the pull ups.  Go hard and go heavy, I want you to know you worked hard when it’s all over.

Get some!

Heavy lift, but the legs are straightening too fast leaving the back to move the majority of the weight. Think "push the earth away" with the legs.
Heavy lift, but the legs are straightening too fast leaving the back to move the majority of the weight. Butt should be lower. Think "push the earth away" with the legs. The arms don't pull at all.

 

All the way up - Full extensio, shoulders back, chest up, spine rigid.
All the way up - Full extension, shoulders back, chest up, spine rigid.

4 thoughts on “WOD 11/11/08

  1. Rick

    Dude,
    Its time you got some more tats! I’m thinking “R I C K” across your stomach vato style, or something like that. I am feelin I need a little needle pain to make me happy! But I digress, Did a make-up WOD from 11/09. I threw-up some pretty mean little girl weight, but felt it fer sure. Then did the CFE WOD, and crawled to my car. Congrats to the EVOC crew for some kick butt WOD action today. Welcome Marty D to the family. Marty is so hardcore he wears combat boots to do his work-out! Nice!
    Allison! Chicks with tats are hot! do it!

  2. Chicks with tats are kool!!! Ian, I need help with my form on the deads. I think I’m pulling with my arms or placing too much strain on my upper back….I dunno, wierd. I’ll catch up with you soon.

  3. Rick – I have the nagging vision of full sleeves in black and grey in my future. Then, we’ll do top of the shoulders, collarbones and top to center of the chest…sleeves first….

    Nice to hear the EVOC crew is killin’ it. Let me know if and when I can help out.

    Shaun – hit me up some time and swing by. We’ll take care of it.

Leave a Reply

