WOD 11/16/08

REST DAY!

I need it. Allison and I had a date night, sans kids, and had the pleasure of joining CrossFit East Sacramento at their Grand Opening celebration last night. It was friggin’ rockin! Chris, Travis and Justin have a bitchin’ set up – it is something to admire and strive for when we set up our box. They were also awesome hosts and had a great turnout of clients, family and friends, and loads of awesome food, beer and wine – none of which I could drink, thanks to having to work later in the night. They had my favorite wine- Menage a Trois (can’t go wrong with a name like that) and all I could do was stare at the bottle.

So, in order to make up for my depression, Justin invited me to join he, Travis and Chris in their inaugral Grand Opening WOD. Travis had mentioned they might do one, so I came prepared with shorts and shoes in the truck just in case. Sure as hell, Justin had one in mind and it was freakin’ heinous! It was my second WOD of the day, but I figured “what the hell” and went at it. It was no joke, one of the hardest WOD’s I have ever done. Go to the CFES site and scroll down until you find the WOD “The Kitchen SInk”. It is not for the faint of heart or beginners, it is a beast!

There is nothing like competing against other athletes and in front of a large crowd. No matter how much you hurt, you are driven like a madman. Justin absolutely killed the WOD in a touch over 15 minutes. That was unreal. Travis came in at 18’32” and I was third at 20’33”. Chris hammered out the whole way and came in at 25 minutes. It was all out for all of us. We all could barely walk and see straight afterwards and Travis spoke the truth when he said, “That was the stupidest thing I have done in a long time!”  Still, we are all crazy enough to do it again if we had to. Heck, Allison was bummed she didn’t know about the WOD since she wanted to join us and go for it herself!! Hopefully, they got some good pix I can share with you all. I owe Justin a serious punch in the crotch next time I see him to remind him of the agony and ecstacy that WOD provided 😉 !

All in all, we had a great time and thoroughly enjoyed the people we met and the company we had of the CFES crew. We also had the pleasure of meeting Camilo, the owner of Midtown Strength & Conditioning in Downtown Sacramento, another great functional fitness, no BS gym.  I wish we could have stayed longer, but I had to head into work and hope that no one ran from me…of course that did not happen and it was busy as hell all night with K9 searches and madness ensuing.

Check out CFES in person or via the web. A great crew, great trainers, and a great gym – all part of a great CrossFit family!

5 thoughts on “WOD 11/16/08

  1. Ian!! Jesus are you as beat down as I am right now?? I can’t believe that you had to go on duty after that brother-brutal!! At least you had a dog and a gun hahaha. I can’t thank you enough for comming, you being there legitimized that workout demo and it really fired me up that you came and put your nuts on the line. Its so awesome and such a blessing to have the support of people like you and allison. I’m going to do whatever I can to help get you guys up and running, and you know that I’ll be making sweat angels on the floor of your grand opening party. Thanks again for taking the time and for being such an ambassador of what we do, plugging our site and everything you have done for us ian! Talk to you soon -travis

  2. Travis – It’s my pleasure and I look forward to working with you guys more in the future. Awesome job!
    And yes, I was toast last night. I was numb for about 2 hours afterwards and I am feeling it today. That was nuts!!

    K95- I don’t think I like you…

  3. Thanks for coming out last night. Instead of a punch in the crotch, maybe you could just put me through a ridiculous WOD. It was pretty ridiculous, I am taking the day off today, I cant imagine intensity right now. I will send you some pics later today.

Leave a Reply

