WOD 12/4/08

“BLACKOUT”

3 Rounds

10 Deadlifts (M:185/W:135)

10 Box Jumps

10 Burpees

10 Box Jumps

10 Pistols (5 per side)

10 Box Jumps

10 OHS (M:95/W:65)

10 Box Jumps

10 Wall Ball (M:20/W:14)

10 Box Jumps

Mercy is for the weak… This WOD is courtesy of Chris Stowe, a Navy EOD Tech serving our country and still CrossFitting wherever he goes. It’s not gonna be pretty come round 3.

You should know and be fairly comfortable with the exercises listed above. If not, sub them and/or scale way back. For those who have not heard of a “pistol” it is a one-legged squat. Yes, it is hard and it makes your arse sore, but it’s a killer movement. If you are new to them, stabilize yourself by holding onto something, just don’t use the arms to take all the muscular tension off of the legs. The same ROM as a regular squat applies here, all the way below parallel and full opening of the hip at the top. When you get them dialed in, you can do them freestanding. This is a great movement for strength as well as stability, coordination and balance.

Pistols.
The One Legged Squat, AKA: Pistols.

If you don’t have a place to do Wall Ball and/or you are still lagging on making your own Med-ball, even though I posted instructions simple enough for a Rhesus monkey to follow in the right hand sidebar, then do Thrusters. I would sugggest doing 25 LB DB’s in each hand. It may be a tad heavy, but that’s your punishment for not making a med ball by now…that’ll learn ya’..

As you fatigue, pay attention to form and ROM. Slow it down a tad and take a break here and there if needed to maintain integrity of the movement and proper form. There will be some breakdown, just don’t let it get so bad you risk injury. A fast time is not worth sloppy form, an injury and blunted physical adaptation.

It’ll be fun, I promise! 3-2-1…GO!

 

*** EDIT *** OK, someone needs to do the math for me. I was an art major and I currently work with a dog, so that should say it all. The next time you see a grand total of 150 Box Jumps in a squat based WOD, please let me know. I will most likely tell you  to “suck it up, Buttercup”, but at least you did your part for those of us educated in the public school system and I’ll have an excuse for being so sore I can’t go to the bathroom the next day…

I went with 225 for D/L’s and 135 for OHS and then did 135 Lb Barbell Waiter Walks after it was over and I rested up a bit. Needless to say, my legs were shaking pretty bad when I wrapped up my day….

Leave a Reply

