WOD 4/10/09

Back Squats 3-3-3-1-1-1

Rest 5-10 min.

5 Rounds

5 HSPU

10 Burpees

20 Swings (55/35)

40 Lunges (Single Count – 20/leg)

 

Back Squats for ME work then rest a bit, and then hit the MetCon. Yes, I know your shoulders and legs are tired, but no one ever said this was going to be easy and as in the real world, if it’s survival, who gives a rat’s ass if your body parts are sore! You can work through it, or die. You will be resting over the next couple days anyhow.  Scale the Handstand Push Ups to your ability – feet on bench/ass up style, high pike position, or regular inverted position. Lunges are single count, so just count each step out.

3-2-1…GO!

8 thoughts on “WOD 4/10/09

  1. Ang Tibay

    Coach,

    On the ME Back Squats, should i pick a 3 rep max and do it for all sets then get to my 1 rep max and do it across as well or should all sets be done in ascending weights?

  2. My personal feelings are as such. I like to climb the ladder for a couple of reasons. Of course I work into some warm up sets first then start with my working sets at aroun 70% of 1RM. I do this to warm up and get the body used to the shock since going really heavy right from the bat kills me. Once I get into my working sets, I will make 20 Lb or so jumps to my sticking point at my 3rd or whatever the last rep maybe. I will hold there for the last set of 3, so by that point it should be getting pretty difficult. I then go into singles with a good size, but managebale, jump from my last 3 rep set. If I can, I will add a few pounds to get me right to that breaking point, but where I still get out my single.

    My thought process is that if you go to the top end of your 3RM or 1RM right from the get go, and you fail or just feel like crap, you are peeling wieght off the bar and basically going backwards in your efforts, mentally and physically. I don’t like to hit failure unless it is the last rep of the last set, and even then, I’d rather get the bar all the way back up. If you are hitting failure on rep 1 of a 3RM, then that’s way too high. The 2nd and 3rd reps should be getting pretty damn hard, but no to the point that you are going to blow it. So, short answer being I like to load heavy, not max, but heavy and add chunks of weight incrementally.

    Lastly, I will finish my WOD, strip my bars down to a heavy but manageable weight where I can do 10 reps. I’ll either do box squats or very solid ass to ankle squats as clean up sets, maybe 1 or 2 depending on how I feel. This helps me reinforce proper form and movements again, and work load through fatigue in the area of submaximal loads.

    Hopefully this helps some. Shoot me an email or let me know if you have any questions. Take care!– Ian

  3. Jon Rudnicki

    Brutal! 225-275-305-315-315-315. Squats felt good, but I didn’t push as hard as I could have (in case we got a call). 5 rounds in 19 minutes at the firehouse. Too slow!

  4. Jesus, Jon! You’re an ox! Nice work and way to keep with it at the station house. Kim did really well over the past couple days too! You guys will represent well at Quals! Take care and stay safe – Ian

  5. scott shaughnessy

    I forgot to say that the 3 1/2 rounds were in 12 minutes….and yes Ian just like Mars Blackman with Michael Jordan, it must be the shoes. Im looking forward to next week so I can set some new PR’s. Happy Easter CFC.

Leave a Reply

